Georgia On my Mind

When I found out that I had been accepted to the Grady L.A. program it was one of the best kind of surprises.  I know that they don’t normally take that many students and with all the documents, references and interview it’s quite a process to apply.  I was sure that with all of the great students applying I wouldn’t get in and would be spending my summer in Athens looking for Production Assistant work in Atlanta (a still worth-while pursuit).

But then I received this …

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 5.15.36 PM

and then I went from having a summer of light to work into trying to find an internship, find a subleaser, moving out of my apartment early, getting plane tickets, renting a car and making sure I had enough clothes to get me through two months of summer in a place where I had no idea what summer weather was like.

But one by one the boxes on my Grady LA checklist very being checked off and the days ran down.  All I had to do was to pack my clothes and get on the plane.

IMG_9601

My packing spreadsheet

Version 2

Apollo either helping or judging me while I pack

 

 

 

 

 

My strategy for packing was to follow the “Capsule Wardrobe” approach.  A capsule wardrobe is a wardrobe of about 30-40 items (not including pajamas, workout gear, and bathing suits) that you can mix and match to create outfits for roughly two months.  The amount of time that I’m going to be in L.A. After working through some of the pieces in my closet I created rough capsule wardrobe, literally the bones of what the wardrobe is suppose to be.

My spreadsheet consisted of:

  • 19 shirts
  • 2 sweatshirts (because I’m cold all the time)
  • 9 pairs of pants
  • 5 dresses
  • 2 rompers (literally the best thing to wear because they can be dressed up or down)
  • 3 pairs of shoes (tennis shoes, sandals and my trusty ankle boots)

I added pajamas, my makeup bag, toiletries and all of this magically fit into a suitcase.

And then the morning came, when I had to get in the car with my family, boyfriend and all my stuff at 4:30am.  Then my bag was checked in by a man who had clearly been forced to be chipper for far too long.  He was like a Disney fairy that had taken up working at the Atlanta airport on weekends.  He whisked my bag away and we were off to security.

This is where “the feels” really set in, beyond this my family wouldn’t be allowed to go with me.  This would be my first time in the airport by myself.  I hugged everyone goodbye (or “see you later” I’ve never been one for goodbyes) and got in line.  I thought “Once they’re gone it’s totally acceptable for me to cry in line, right?” But as I checked to see if I was in the clear, I was surprised to see my family still there! My mom was making my Dad, sister and boyfriend take a funny photo outside of security.

IMG_3014

Mom was not impressed with these funny faces

After the photo shoot was over, they waved goodbye from afar and were gone.  I stood in line at security for a good 30 to 40 minutes before getting to the scanners.  I made it through security quickly and luckily my gate, T11, was right on the other side of security gates.

Getting accepted into Grady LA seemed like a long shot but being on the plane, on the way to Los Angeles was just so surreal.  I know I’m going to miss my family, friends, boyfriend and cat (Apollo) very much, but now I’m here, sitting in my new temporary home waiting to start this new adventure.

Leave a Reply

