The Munching Wabbit: California Donuts

I have a problem ….

I love Donuts.

tumblr_nlr25lCJnp1u0hki1o4_500

This would be me if I was an actual wabbit.

So when I realized that California Donuts was actually in California I just had to go there and get a taste of this sweet overly Instagrammed hotspot.

My roommate and I went pretty late, maybe around 10:00 or 11:00pm and it was still pretty busy.  One of the best parts about this place is that it’s open 24/7 so I never have to abandon the hope of getting a donut at 3 in the morning.  Pulling up to the location was a little sketchy.  You always imagine places that appear cute and bubbly on the internet will look that way when you get there but this was definitely not the case.  California Donuts is in a small cracked parking lot next to a busy intersection and a coin laundromat in Koreatown.

static1.squarespace

Walking up to the store was a bit more comforting because there were people standing in front of the store front just looking at the donuts trying to decide what to order, I could see there dilemma.

url

There were donuts that looked like pandas, pink donuts with strawberries, matcha donuts, and tons of other flavors.  The donuts were also pretty cheap, most were $1 and some of the more elaborately decorated ones were $3 but they had some great deals like $5.25 for a half dozen.

My roommate and I were pretty full so we decided to just get one and return for more later.  I got The Simpsons inspire D’ohnut and she got a matcha donut.

IMG_3722 IMG_3721 IMG_3723

Although my pictures are not nearly as pretty as the Instagram one these donuts were delicious!! Compared to Dunkin’ Donuts these seems more fluffy, almost like a cake density with the layers of a crescant.  They were definitely worth the dollar and the little drive.

Leave a Reply

